The Corruption and Crime Commissioner is responsible to Parliament for the performance of the functions of the Commission, in respect of which he is not subject to political interference. The Commissioner is ultimately responsible for all the activities and operations undertaken on his behalf by Commission officers. The Commissioner holds office on a full-time basis for an initial period of five years. The Chief Executive is the administrative head and is responsible for the performance and administration of the Commission and other public sector related obligations.

Commissioner, Hon John McKechnie QC
Mr John Roderick McKechnie, QC, was appointed Commissioner in April 2015. He retired from the Supreme Court of Western Australia to take up the appointment after 16 years, the last three as Senior Judge General Division. He was the first Director of Public Prosecutions for Western Australia. He has taught trial advocacy for 30 years and presently is the course leader at Murdoch University. He has been involved in teaching at the National Judicial College of Australia for 10 years. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.

Acting Commissioner, David Scott Ellis

The Acting Commissioner is appointed to act in the office of Commissioner if there is a vacancy or the incumbent is unable to perform the functions of the Commission. Mr David Scott Ellis was appointed Acting Commissioner from 10 July 2019 to 9 July 2022.

The Commission has a Corporate Executive leadership team comprised of the Chief Executive and four Directors.

Chief Executive Officer, Ray Warnes, appointed in 2015
Ray has a distinguished career in the state public sector, most recently as the Executive Director Courts and Tribunal Services, Department of the Attorney General, and periods as Acting Director General of that Department.

Director Assessment and Strategy Development, Mary Brown, appointed in 2020
Mary joins the Commission with over 30 years' experience leading and driving organisational change in a variety of senior roles at the WA Police Force, including intelligence operations, counter terrorism and state protection, and the north metropolitan region. 

Director Corporate Service, Emma Milne, appointed in 2016
Emma has extensive experience in influencing and delivering strategic outcomes, gained from the banking industry. Leading in global and local organisations shaped her expertise in complex stakeholder and relationship management, organisational and cultural diversity and change management.

Director Legal Services, Wendy Endebrock-Brown, appointed in 2015
Wendy has considerable skills and experience gained from a career of almost 25 years with the Australian Government Solicitor and in private practice.

Director Operations, David Robinson, appointed in 2016
With over 25 years' experience in the Western Australian Public Sector, including at the Department of the Premier and Cabinet, the Ombudsman's office and the Commission, David  has developed a deep interest in ethics and accountability mechanisms. He has a BA in History and Politics and a MA in Public Policy.